Time is moving at warp speed….

The countdown to Taiji has begun.  Wednesday night we had The Cove playing at movie night at The Tarpon Ice House.  Everyone who watched the movie was clearly moved and the outpouring of support I am receiving from my small town has been amazing.  Everyone here, from my banker to the grocery clerks seem to know about my upcoming trip.  I have encouraged everyone who has not yet seen the movie to do so, and a lot have.  Hooray!  One person at a time.  Picked up my Yen today and am getting my old suitcase out and dusting them off.  Am thinking I am bringing one suitcase just filled with nuts and oatmeal and some dried fruits, what will the customs officers think?  We don’t have food in Japan?

I’d like to thank Paul Fain, the owner of the Tarpon Ice House and Ronnie Narmour, writer for the Island Moon for helping me spread the word about this horrible atocity.  Like Ric O’barry stated in the movie, if we can’t change this one thing, then there really is no hope.

I laid in bed last night, unable to sleep, thinking about what these fisherman feel about their chosen profession.  Is there a sense of pride that comes from the kill that I just can’t understand.  Do their children go to school and proclaim proudly that their dad’s kill dolphins for a living?  As a westerner I can say, yeah  I really don’t get it.  I just hope it will end in my lifetime.

So I got my first article written for the Island Moon.  It will be coming out on the 12th of this month.  I will have two more articles to write once I am on the ground.  For those of you on the island, please look for it in “The Island Moon”.  I will post the contents of my article once the newspaper is out for those of you who want to read it online.

9 responses to “Time is moving at warp speed….

  1. Be Safe!!

  2. One voice…takes up that much closer to the end result..to see an end to this in our lifetime..I admire and respect your decision to be on the front lines..be safe my new friend.

    Jackie Bigford
    http://twitter.com/Luv_Dolphins

  3. Thank you for coming to Japan! You and everyone else who has made or will make the trip are heroes!

  4. Wishing You the Very Best as a New Dolphin Cove Guardian. I Just Know Your Presence as well as All the Cove Guardians will Make a Positive Difference. There will Be Opposition, People who Try to Sway you from Your Path, but Remember Your Goals, Be True to Yourself, and Do Not Let Any Negativity take You from What You Feel is Right in Your Heart. May Peace and Love Lead and Follow You in Your Journey of Life on this Wonderful Planet. Cheryl/aka Muffyjo on the Web

  5. Thanks Sheri !!!! Good luck !!!! You have a lot of support.

  6. “The most compassionate form of giving is done with no thought or expectation of reward, and grounded in genuine concern for others.” – Dalai Lama

  7. When I read your article in the paper I couldn’t believe it! My name is Sydney and I am 14 years old. I live in Arizona and this same exact thing happened to me. I was browsing through the movies on Netflix when I came accross “The Cove”. I spontaneously decided to watch it, not knowing what I was getting myself into. Through out the entire movie I was mortified and disgusted with the people commiting this crime. I couldn’t believe that this was happening in our world today and that practically nobody knew about it! I am a full blown animal lover, always have been, and when I saw this movie, I knew something had to be done. I knew that the smallest thing could lead to a big impact! So I began to tell as many people as possible about this sick situation including my friends, teachers, family, and other adults. I knew how much that movie affected me, so its bound to change atleast one other persons life. One person can make a difference and i believe that! I plan on making a support group at my hishschool for the dolphins in Taiji and hopefully all of us together can make a difference. Im going to work hard to make sure that I can get involved to do something about this tragic killing. I salute you for your dedication and determination to stop this monstrous act of dolphin killing. Get out there and show these murderers what we’re made of. Have a safe trip and GOOD LUCK!

  8. Kudos too to the Commenter, Sydney … Wow Sydney! Good Luck with Your High School Support Group Goal! You are Right, One Person Can Make a Difference…. You Can Do It! Change the World Consciousness through Compassion in Action!

Leave a Reply

