Tomorrow….

Monday evening and my last full day in Taiji is complete as I will have to leave tomorrow  directly from Cove duties to the train station to catch my train to Osaka.  Spending the night at the airport hotel for an early morning flight, first to Tokyo, then on to Dallas and finally Corpus Christi.  Oh how I dread the days ahead.  Survivors guilt perhaps?  I just do not want to leave.  Although the time spent here in Taiji has tested my resolve in every way shape and form, it has also managed to strengthen my commitment to this cause of bringing  awareness of the plight of the  dolphins, whether slaughtered or caught for captivity, and ultimately a desire to see an end to this cruel barbaric travesty.  I dare not say a tradition because there is nothing traditional about starting your diesel power engine, turning on your GPS, communicating with 12 other boats via marine radio, and driving pods of dolphins into a cove to be slaughtered.  If they really want to use this reasoning then go back to the traditional way of the hunt, but don’t think for a second your argument holds any water these days.  I have seen things that I prepared myself to see and have seen things that completely caught me off guard.  I have served with a group of volunteers that simply put are amazing and have enjoyed the company of each and everyone of them.  It is true what they say, you come over here as strangers and you leave with life long friends.  Granted most of the wonderful people I will never see again but we all take with us the memories and the will to make a change for the better. I am so sad to have to say goodbye, as we did today to Andy.  Tomorrow is my turn to take that four hour long train ride and reflect on my time spent at The Cove.  As all days I pray that tomorrow is another slaughter free day, but if it is to be another tragic day at the cove I intend on doing my job up until the moment I leave, document, document, document.  I will not stop until the slaughter stops.  For this is my mission now and I feel more empowered than ever.  I have already started making plans to return next fall. Today the cove did not run red with blood and in my book that makes it a great day!

8 responses to “Tomorrow….

  1. Have a safe trip back home Sheri!
    You did a great job out there in Taiji…..

  2. Thank you for being there for us worldwide! Safe travels…

  3. You are a Brave Lady and I thank you for Part in Letting the World in On Taiji’s Dark Secrets and Dishonorable Activities. I also Thank You for all Your Informative, Intellectual Posts. You are a True Friend of the Dolphins. Take Care, and may we see the End to this barbaric practice in our life time. Let us never forget the Dolphin Deaths, and the lone Survivors sent out to perform around the world after seeing their friends and family Slaughtered. I am praying Heartfully, that Man wakes up very SOON and takes notice to what the human race is doing to the ocean and the inhabitants thereof; and that our ocean will not be barren, polluted and uninhabitable as what has happened to many parts of our land.

  4. Amazing blog! Please have safe trip back home! 🙂

  5. Thank you Sheri for letting us share this experience with you..albeit a gruesome one…the messages from Taiji must stop only when the slaughters stop….I hope with all my heart that you will not have to return to Taiji next year….I live for the day as we all do when this will be history and our friends can swim freely thru the waters of Japan.

    Have a safe journey home and know that you have and will make a difference.
    Swim Far ~ Swim Fast ~ Swim Deep ~

  6. Thanks for representing those of us who were not able to be there with you. Can’t wait to see you when you get home. I have alot of new and very interesting people for you to meet. Big hugs are waiting for you. Have a safe and restful trip home. Love ya’ Len

  7. Always look forward to reading your news postings… thanks Sheri.. for all you’ve done.. and for planning on returning in the Fall………….. ! I can’t even imagine how hard it must’ve been to see what you’ve seen… you’ve been our eyes/ears to what’s going on over there… and can’t thank you enough!! the dophins thank you too… keep up the great work.. together we can make a difference!

  8. I’m so thankful for everything you and the other Guardians do. Thank you for charging ahead and taking on the cause with bravery, passion and lots of fight. I know it’s true when you say that your work has just begun and I will do what I can to help.

Leave a Reply

